Notre Père (The Lord’s Prayer in French)

My desire for travel was deeply rooted from my yearning to learn different languages.  I remember when I was about 8 years old, I  asked one of my aunts for a Spanish Dictionary as a birthday gift. And my mom’s English-Filipino and Filipino– English Dictionary I read like a text book.

Now that I teach French in the university, I encourage my students to learn different languages while they are still young. A second or a third language can be very useful in today’s globalization or perhaps just when one travels.

What better way to learn a language, than to begin it with a prayer. Perhaps, one of the most important learning a person can acquire is the ability to recite this universal prayer, may be in French. The Lord’s Prayer.

Notre Père

Notre Père qui es aux cieux:

que ton nom soit sanctifié;

que ton règne vienne;

que ta volonté soit faite

sur la terre comme au ciel.

Donne-nous aujourd’hui notre pain de ce jour;

et pardonne-nous nos offenses,

comme nous pardonnons à ceux qui nous ont offensés;

et ne nous summet pas a la tentation,

mais délivre-nous du mal.

Car c’est à toi qu’appartiennent le règne,

la puissance et la gloire, au siècles des siècles

AMEN !

30 thoughts on “Notre Père (The Lord’s Prayer in French)

  1. sir lee you’re an amazing person=)….
    very inspiring!
    even in your blog, we can see that you’re a humble person by sharing to us the Lord’s Prayer…
    The Lord has plans for YOU, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future

  2. sir sa versailles palace gardens yan sir diba? i quite recognize it by the cone shape plant at the background of your picture sir…tama po ba?

  3. mon nez est vraiment saignements chaque fois que j’essaye de prononcer des mots français, j’espère que je peux le faire à la finale??? 😀

  4. Non, je ne regrette rien enrolling for lang this sem monsieur faj.. super sulit! i cant wait to learn more 🙂 GOD BLESS you more monsieur faj!

  5. i have always wanted to learn another language, i keep “stealing” my brother’s notes from your lectures and reading it! and now just got motivated to learn more because of this post 🙂

  6. I always pray this every morning sir, thanks for letting us know how this beautiful piece works out. praying in different languages is not just a challenge but its a gift if you feel it through your soul.
    ps:now learning french more and better sir, merci beaucoup monsieur. 🙂

  7. 🙂 by reading this prayer,,it always reminds me of our recitation sir… everything was so nervous and trying their best to recite this prayer 🙂 i love french.. wonderful language 🙂

  8. Not quite the way I learned it some 60 years ago. ‘Ton’ used to be ‘votre’. Donner nous aujourd’hui notre pain quotidien..et ne nous laissez pas succomber a la tentation. The last two lines were never said in a Catholic service. And most prayers ended with ‘Ainsi soit il.’ Only Amen if you were saying it in Latin. Other than that, it’s perfect. 🙂 This is still the way I say it, but then I still sing O Canada in French because I don’t know it in English.

    • Thank you for the input. I love it 🙂 For as long as we get the message across, I guess, it should be alright. I agree, the last two lines are not included in mass, but I particularly love saying that last line …

Say something :-)

