If there is Heaven for Dogs…

This is in loving memory of my two beloved pets.  They made me and my family happy for quite sometime.  They shared with us unconditional love and respect only dogs could bring.

I woke up today with a heavy heart knowing that I would  lay to rest my beautiful 6-month old puppy named VENUS.  She was a gift by one of our friends.  I still remember the day she was given to me.  Oh she was so fat, very chubby.  She still had some dry milk on her mouth when I first kissed her on her nose.  That was really memorable.  She was a happy dog and fearless at the same time.  That very trait made me decide to not put her on a cage nor tie her on a leash.  She was dependable even at her young age.  We would know if there were strangers around as soon as she starts barking.  I will miss her happy disposition.  Every morning, she was at the kitchen windows tirelessly wagging her tail.

For some weird reason, and by this we were unaware.  She started bleeding. We guessed it was just menstruation, nothing serious, just like with my other dog, the Beagle. It was too late to bring her to the vet as she died the next day.  If there is heaven for dogs, I know she is there wagging her tail as usual.

Venus January 13, 2012-July 16, 2012

Venus @ 4 months posed for the camera

And with this I cannot help but remember my other dog TRAVIS.  He was a Labrador Retriever.  He was our first dog and with him came along great memories.  Travis was given to us by another friend when he was only 2-months old.  Our landlady back then did not like dogs as she was allergic.  She made us choose between the dog or the house.  We chose the dog and moved out of the house.  Unlike Venus, Travis was lazy.  He does nothing but eat and would not even bark, even at strangers.  But I loved him for his being cute, cuddly and nice to children.  He was so tame that children from the neighborhood would play with him and he would just let them do all the stuff to him.  He was a great joy to the family.  He loves to drink water, he likes taking a bath and he is fond of strolling around the beach.  And true to his name, he was a great retriever.

Travis at 2-months. The day we had him

If there is heaven for dogs, I’m sure my Travis is there.  He is either sleeping or probably eating.

Adult Travis

I’m in search for answers to avoid these tragedies to ever happen again.

37 thoughts on “If there is Heaven for Dogs…

  1. how sad sir,. i remember my dog “Bourgie” who was a German Spitz,. He usually comes back when we call him,. we also did not put him on a cage nor a leash,. one day when we were calling him he did not come back, sad to say he ran away and some stranger might have already taken her,. the reaon for him running away was Jealousy (that’s what we think) because since the one taking care of him had a baby, the attention went to the child and he ws always ignored,. we all nooticed everyday that Bourgie was lonely it was like he felt so alone,. maybe that is why he ran away,. bacause he thought no body loved him anymore,. I was so sad that day that i came home and no dog came to me,. I shed a tear and until now i miss my dog,. Now we have a Japanese Spitz but i still keep thinking of Bourgie…

  2. oh, how i miss both of them. just by looking at their pictures make me want to cry and fell guilty of not hugging and playing with them enough. they occupy a special place in my heart, no other dog could replace. 😦

  3. I’m so sorry- sometimes losing a beloved pet can be more painful than even losing a person. i guess because our hearts get so invested on a daily basis. Our 6m old kitten was hit by a car a few weeks ago- I was a wreck for weeks. It’s so unfair when things like that happen, isn’t it? I like your blog : ) Keep writing- and thanks for visiting mine!

  4. This blog reminds me of a saying i have encountered:
    Dogs’ lives are too short. Their only fault, really. ~Agnes Sligh Turnbull
    Indeed a reality of life, that is why we need not to know when the things or lives we treasure leave us, It is just a matter of savouring every moment while they are still alive.:D

  5. Sorry for your loss Sir, We also had a dog named James who is a golden retriever. It was a gift from my father who stayed for at least 6 years with us. James was killed by our neighbor because our neighbor just hates dogs and its really sad, he killed my precious friend because of that non-sense reason. I miss James so much the reason why we had another golden retriever who is with us now, her name is Saber.

  6. I remember our dog too named Clothie she left us already. Me and my family will not forget that date…Jan.1,2012. We were to busy that time and we didn’t noticed at all that its the last New year’s eve Clothie would be with us.

  7. Sorry for your loss Sir, We also had a dog named James who is a golden retriever. It was a gift from my father who stayed for at least 6 years with us. James was killed by our neighbor because our neighbor just hates dogs and its really sad, he killed my precious friend because of that non-sense reason. I miss James so much the reason why we had another golden retriever who is with us now, her name is Saber.

  8. i remember my dog, his name is BINGO.. he died a couple of years ago.. thumps up..dog’s are truly man’s best friends..

  9. ang cu2te ng mga dogs.. syang nga lang wala na sila.. I do love dogs’ sir but sad to say I don’t have one. They are really man’s best friend

  10. if there is heaven for us, surely this two little cute puppies are there too. 🙂 mingling and playing with each other n.hehe I remember our brown poodle dog named cassey, she was already 1 yr old when she got lost. we don’t know what happen to her during flood, maybe she was taken away by a stranger or by the flood & died. 😦

  11. True indeed! dogs are man’s best friend though we need to accept the fact that they only live for a short time wherein we should value them, love them and take good care of them. I felt sad knowing that Venus left you. may she find peace and keep on wagging her tail 🙂

  12. Sorry for your loss Sir faj:( I admire you for treating your dogs as part of your family… dont worry sir they may not be physically present anymore but i certainly believe that they are always on your side guiding you and keeping you away from harm…like what dogs usually do with their best buddy!:)

  13. .,.c’est une preuve que les chiens sont vraiment le meilleur ami de l’homme.,ce n’est pas grave monsieur, même si elles ne sont pas autour de nous maintenant, ils sont des souvenirs va durer.,

  14. i love dogs too, sir. they’re just so cute and friendly. i remember my dogs whenever i had problems or whenever i’m sad they’ll approach me. they seem to know what i was up to. it’s just so sad that i lost them already.

Say something :-)

