The Cologne Cathedral

Its been ten days since my last post, how are you? I hope all is well with you my friends.

I have no work today because classes is suspended as typhoon ‘Helen’ wreaks havoc in Northern Philippines.  She is a slow typhoon with winds blowing up to 100 km per hour while she moves at 17.  I hope she’s gone by the time I wake up tomorrow.  I am really looking forward to see the sun shining through my beautiful city again. But for the mean time, I take this opportunity to contemplate and count my blessings while the winds howl outside and the downpour is obviously beyond normal.

I remember one of the biggest most amazing church that I have ever seen in my life.  Though the Philippines, which is predominantly a Christian nation abounds with century-old Catholic churches, I have never seen something like the Cathedral of Cologne in Germany.

It is Kölner Dom, officially Hohe Domkirche St. Peter und Maria, in English, High Cathedral of Sts.Peter and Mary.

It is a renowned site for German Catholicism, Gothic Architecture and a World Heritage Site.

This is one of Germany’s most visited sites. A visit to the cathedral when in Germany is a must. Its construction began in 1248 but was a work in progress until about 1880.

The intricate details at the entrance of the cathedral is marvelous.

It is the largest Gothic church in Northern Europe and has the second-tallest spires and largest façade of any church in the world.

The nave of the cathedral. Gothic, splendid and an awesome wonder.

The choir has the largest height to width ratio of any medieval church.

The Shrine of the Three Kings, is believed to house the relics of the three wise men.

Medieval statue of St. Christopher, patron of travelers welcome tourists from around the world.


    
         

As a World Heritage Site, and with its convenient and imposing position on tourist destinations, Cologne Cathedral is a major tourist attraction, it is an excellent destination for Christian pilgrimage.

63 thoughts on “The Cologne Cathedral

  1. got so busy the past days sir, so i wasn’t able to view your posts.. GRABE! words are not enough to describe the church… nakakatuwa po because the church is full of art…. is this how people express their gratitude to the Lord??

  2. Amazing structures, The designers really put something with every details of it. You have an amazing shot there, It is really a nice work sir. Someday I will go there like you. 🙂

  3. Wow sir! The intricacy of the building walls and facades symbolizes the love for art of the Europeans! Great pictures, sir! Hope to go here someday! 😀

  4. I’ve kinda have obsession with churches especially those that existed several decades ago and those that have mysterious stories behind it! just like the La Sagrada Familia in Barcelona,Spain design by catalan architech Antoni Gaudi,,upon seeing your pictures sir, i really wish i could also travel and see the world for myself just like what your doing.You really inspire me in a way sir!^^ and for that, Merci beaucoup monsieur Faj!:))

Say something :-)

